Republicans sweep Butler County races

Republicans fared well in Butler County on Election Day.

    In the race for Butler County Auditor, Republican Leslie Groen garnered 5,465 votes to incumbent Liz Williams’ 2,337.

    “I am so appreciative that Butler County has recognized the need for change, and I am honored to be elected Butler County Auditor,” said Groen. “It is a very humbling experience, and I could not have done it on my own.  As I said after the primary, I have had countless family, friends, and neighbors by my side, supporting me and spreading the word this past year.  I am very excited to listen, learn and put my experience to work for Butler County!”

    Supervisor Greg Barnett, also a Republican, was re-elected with 1,522 votes to Democratic challenger Teresa Negen’s 1000 votes.

"I am extremely excited and honored to be able to serve all people of Butler County for another four years. Thank you to everyone who has helped and supported me through this election," said Barnett. "Looking forward to more great things for Butler County!"

    County Sheriff Jason Johnson was re-elected with 7,247 votes in an uncontested race.

    In the District 54 State Representative race, Shannon Latham had a landslide victory with 10,203 votes to Democrat Karen Koenig’s 3,590 and Bennett Smith’s 1,898.

    Speaker of the Iowa House Pat Grassley was re-elected in District 50 with 8,088 to Democrat Dennis Evans’ 3,086.

    Republican Senator Joni Ernst defeated Democratic challenger Theresa Greenfield.

    In the U.S. Representative District 4 race, Republican Randy Feenstra defeated Democrat J.D. Scholten.

For full election coverage, see the upcoming edition of the paper.


Tribune-Journal & Star

101 N. Main St.
P.O. Box 788
Clarksville, IA 50619
Phone: 319-278-4641

Mid-America Publishing

This newspaper is part of the Mid-America Publishing Family. Please visit for more information.