Doty, Fails and Renning win Clarksville; Schuldt and Krull take Shell Rock

City election results are in.

According to unofficial election night results from the Butler County Auditor, Roger Doty and Diane Renning have retained their seats on the Clarksville City Council, and Todd Fails will fill the seat left by Travis Sterken, who chose not to seek re-election.

Doty garnered 129 votes, Fails 125 votes and Renning 113 votes, while Kai Brost received 25 votes and write-in candidates took 22.

Mayor Val Swinton of Clarksville was re-elected with 128 votes. There were eight write-in votes for mayor.

Meanwhile in Shell Rock, Garrett Schuldt was elected to the council with 131 votes. Jared Krull was also elected with 124 votes. Corey Backer received 68 votes. Schuldt and Krull will fill the seats left by the retirement of Ben DeWitt and Jim DeWitt. Shell Rock Mayor Larry Young was re-elected with 128 votes. There were 30 write-in votes for mayor.

Read more in the November 16 Star.